You are here

Council plans and where to find them

This page has information on councils RMA plans for managing the environment, the different types and how to find them.

What are RMA plans?

The Resource Management Act 1991 says that councils have to prepare plans to help them manage the environment in their area. These plans tell you what you can or cannot do as of right.

There are several different types of plans.

  • Regional policy statements set the basic direction for environmental management in the region.
  • Regional plans concentrate on practical parts of the environment like the coast, soil, river or air. Regional plans include a regional coastal plan.
  • District plans set out the objectives, policies and rules a council will use to manage the use and development of the land in its area (including contaminated land).

How to find RMA plans

Click on the map below to find links to councils RMA plans in each region.

Contact details for councils and links to council websites can also be found on the Local Government New Zealand website.

Northland Greater Wellington Auckland Waikato Bay of Plenty Gisborne Taranaki Manawatu-Wanganui Hawke's Bay Tasman Nelson Marlborough West Coast Canterbury Otago Southland Chatam Islands