View all publications

Appendix B: Existing marine management legislation in New Zealand’s territorial sea


Relevant legislation

Effects management (excluding fisheries)

Resource Management Act 1991

Fisheries management (including effects)

Fisheries Act 1996

Marine reserves

Marine Reserves Act 1971

Species protection
(including seabirds, some fish and corals)

Wildlife Act 1953 (not continental shelf)

Marine Mammals Protection Act 1978 (not continental shelf)

Biological security

Biosecurity Act 1993


Maritime Transport Act 1994

Access to minerals

Crown Minerals Act 1991

Historic heritage

Historic Places Act 1993

Seabed rights

Marine and Coastal Area (Takutai Moana) Act 2011

Treaty settlements

Various Acts

Special legislation resulting from community- or stakeholder-based initiatives

Kaikōura (Te Tai o Marokura) Marine Management Act 2014

Subantarctic Islands Marine Reserves Act 2014

Fiordland (Te Moana o Atawhenua) Marine Management Act 2005

Sugar Loaf Islands Marine Protected Area Act 1991