View all publications


We would like to thank the following people and organisations for their invaluable contribution to this report.

Data providers

In New Zealand, environmental monitoring is shared across central government agencies, Crown research institutes, and local government. Regional and unitary councils are obliged to monitor our fresh water under the Resource Management Act 1991. Much of the information in this report comes from the data regional councils and other agencies collect.

We would like to thank the following organisations for providing data for this report.

Auckland Council, Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Christchurch City Council, Department of Conservation, Environmental Science and Research (ESR), Environment Canterbury, Environment Southland, Gisborne District Council, GNS Science International, Hawke’s Bay Regional Council, Horizons Regional Council, Landcare Research, Marlborough District Council, MetService, Ministry for the Environment, Ministry for Primary Industries, Nelson City Council, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA), Northland Regional Council, Otago Regional Council, Pukekiteraki Papatipu Runanga, Stats NZ, Taranaki Regional Council, Tasman District Council, Te Arawa Lakes Trust, Waikato Regional Council, Wellington Regional Council, West Coast Regional Council.

Peer reviewers

We would like to thank the following people and organisations for reviewing Our fresh water 2017.

Gary Brierley – University of Auckland

Roger Young – Cawthron Institute

Technical advisors

We would like to thank our technical advisors for reviewing drafts of this report.Technical advisors encompass a range of individuals from various organisations who have expertise in technical matters related to the freshwater domain. The role of technical advisers is to support freshwater reporting by providing advice on strategic and technical details of environmental reporting of the Freshwater Domain.

Chris Daughney – GNS Science

Clive Howard-Williams – NIWA

David Hamilton – University of Waikato

David West – Department of Conservation

Dominique Noiton – Waikato Regional Council

Doug Booker – NIWA

Erica Williams – NIWA

Graham Sevicke-Jones – Environment Southland

Joanne Clapcott – Cawthron Institute

Ken Taylor – AgResearch

Richard McDowell – AgResearch

Rosemary Miller – Department of Conservation

Scott Larned – NIWA

Tim Davie – Environment Canterbury

Ton Snelder – LWP Ltd