View all publications

Appendix 8: Cyanobacteria and cyanotoxin capabilities in New Zealand

Table A8.1:   Freshwater micro-algae/cyanobacterial analysis capabilities in New Zealand
  IANZ accred.* Location Contact
Cawthron Yes Nelson

Cawthron Analytical Services

Phone: 03 548 2319

Email: labstation@cawthron.org.nz

Web: http://www.cawthron.org.nz/analytical-services/

Landcare Research No Auckland Stephen Moore
Ph: 09 574 4100
Email: MooreS@landcareresearch.co.nz
NIWA Yes Hamilton Karl Safi
Ph: 07 856 7026
Email: algalservices@niwa.co.nz
Web: www.niwa.cri.nz/ncwr/tools/algae
Ryder Consulting No Dunedin Ben Ludgate
Ph: 03 477 2113
Email: b.ludgate@ryderconsulting.co.nz
University of Canterbury No Christ-church Dr Paul Broady, School of Biological Sciences
Ph: 03 364 2525
Email: paul.broady@canterbury.ac.nz
Watercare Laboratory Services Yes Auckland Lynette Ronberg
Ph: 09 539 7784
Email: clientsupport@water.co.nz
University of Waikato No Hamilton Prof. David Hamilton
Ph: 07 858 5046
Email: d.hamilton@waikato.ac.nz

*     International Accreditation New Zealand (IANZ) is the national authority for the accreditation of testing and calibration laboratories. IANZ accreditation is not required to undertake analysis of cyanobacteria/algae in recreational use water bodies. It is required for water used for drinking.

Table A8.2:       Cyanotoxin analysis capabilities in New Zealand
Laboratory Cyanotoxins Method IANZ accred. Contact
AgResearch Hamilton Total MC/NOD ADDA- ELISA No Jan Sprosen
Ph: 07 838 5203
Email: jan.sprosen@agresearch.co.nz
Cawthron Nelson MC/NOD LC-MS Yes Catherine Moisan
Section Head, Natural Toxins
Ph: 03 548 2319 ext 268
Email: catherine.moisan@cawthron.org.nz
Web: www.cawthron.org.nz/analytical-laboratory/natural-toxins.html
  ATX, HTX, CYN LC-MS Yes
  SAX Rapid Kit No (but plan to obtain)
  ATX-a(S) AchE assay* No  
  General toxicity Mouse bioassay* No  
Watercare Laboratory Services MC/NOD LC-MS No Dr Peter Boniface
Head of Organic Chemistry Services
Ph: 09 539 7760
Email: clientsupport@water.co.nz

Notes:     LC-MS = liquid chromatography mass spectrometry; ELISA = enzyme-linked immuno sorbent assay; AchE = acetylcholinesterases inhibition assay; MC = microcystin; NOD = nodularin; ATX = anatoxin-a; HTX = homoanatoxin-a, SAX = saxitoxin; ATX-a(S) = anatoxin-a(S).

* Not routinely used but available on request.