View all publications

Figure 9.1: New Zealand’s soil orders (North Island)

Return to the point in the document where this figure is located.



(1) Only 14 of New Zealand’s 15 soil orders occur in the North Island.

(2) The brown soil order is divided into two sub-orders (brown soils and brown soils – stony) for the purposes of this Figure.

Source: Adapted from Molloy, 1998.

Text description of figure

Figure 9.1 is a map that shows the extent to which each of 14 of the 15 soils orders for New Zealand cover the North Island.  Each of the 14 soils orders are shown in a separate colour where they occur. These include:

  • Allophanic soils
  • Anthropic
  • Brown soils
  • Brown soils – stony
  • Gley soils
  • Granular soils
  • Melanic soils
  • Organic soils
  • Oxidic soils
  • Pallic soils
  • Podzol soils
  • Pumice soils
  • Raw soils
  • Recent soils
  • Ultic soils.

Table 9.1 notes the locations for the 15 soil orders shown in Figure 9.1. Table 9.1 also notes the percentage of national cover of each of the 15 soil orders.