View all publications


We would like to thank the following people and organisations for their invaluable contribution to Our atmosphere and climate 2017 and Environmental Indicators Te taiao Aotearoa.

Data providers

We would like to thank the following for providing data for this report.

Climate Research Unit, University of East Anglia; GEOMAR, Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel; Hannah, John (Emeritus professor University of Otago); Institute of Environmental Science and Research (ESR); Met Office, Hadley Centre for Climate Change; MetService courtesy of Transpower New Zealand Limited; Ministry for the Environment; Ministry of Health; National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA); National Institute for Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA); National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; National Weather Service Climate Prediction Center; Ozone Secretariat – United Nations Environment Programme; World Resources Institute

Peer reviewers

We would like to thank the following people and organisations for reviewing a draft of this report.

Andy Reisinger – New Zealand Agricultural Greenhouse Gas Research Centre

Brett Mullan – NIWA

Darren Ngaru King – NIWA

Kevin Hennessy – Climate Comms, Australia

Technical advisory group

The technical advisory group provided advice on potential measures and feedback on an earlier draft version of the report.

Alex Thompson – Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Andrew Tait – NIWA

David Wratt – Emeritus scientist NIWA and adjunct professor Victoria University of Wellington

Gerald Rys – Ministry for Primary Industries

James Renwick – Victoria University of Wellington

Jocelyn Turnbull – GNS Science

Kathleen Kozyniak – Hawke’s Bay Regional Council

Peter Kreft – MetService

Richard McKenzie – Emeritus scientist NIWA

Tammy Hambling – ESR

Warren Gray – Ministry for the Environment