Coastal Hazards and Climate Change guidance technical workshops

Date:  20 July 2018

Support in implementing the updated Coastal Hazards and Climate Change guidance is being offered via a series of Ministry for the Environment workshops. The Ministry for the Environment is providing the workshops in partnership with the Deep South National Science Challenge, councils and NIWA.

The full-day workshops will be held throughout the country from July to September. They’ll be useful for council staff, engineers, planners, asset managers, infrastructure operators, land developers, legal advisors and others implementing the guidance.

Representatives from the Ministry for the Environment and the guidance author team will take attendees through the decision-making process recommended in the guidance. There will be a particular focus on how to implement the Dynamic Adaptive Pathways Planning (DAPP) approach and work with the four sea-level rise scenarios.

The workshops will also cover:

  • key features of the guidance and the context in which it operates
  • principles for engaging with communities
  • how to conduct hazard, risk and vulnerability assessments that work around uncertainty.

In addition to the workshops, the New Zealand Coastal Society is sponsoring an evening public meeting in each location. Further details on these meetings are available on the NZ Coastal Society Facebook page.

Below is the full schedule of workshops. If you are interested in attending one of the workshops, please get in touch with the appropriate contact person. Spaces are limited, so don't wait!

18 July, Hamilton
Venue: The Link Community Centre
Cnr River Rd and Te Aroha St, Claudelands, Hamilton 3216
Contact: Rick Liefting

20 July, Napier
Venue: Hawke's Bay Regional Council
159 Dalton St, Napier 4110
Contact: Monique Thomsen

24 July, Wellington
Venue: RH105, Level One, Rutherford House
23 Lambton Quay (VUW Pipitea Campus), Wellington 6011
Contact: Emma Lemire

25 July, Christchurch
Venue: NIWA Christchurch
10 Kyle St, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011
Contact: Jane Doogue

8 August, Richmond (Tasman)
Venue: Tasman District Council
189 Queen St, Richmond 7050
Contact: Diana Worthy

15 August, Whangarei
Venue: Northland Regional Council
36 Water St, Whangarei 0110
Contact: Evania Laybourn

17 August, Dunedin
Venue: Otaru Room, 2nd Floor DCC Building, Civic Centre
50 The Octagon, Dunedin 9016
Contact: Emma Lemire

20 August, Auckland
Venue: Ellen Melville Centre
1 Freyberg Place, Auckland Central 1000
Contact: Tom FitzGerald

27 August, Tauranga
Venue:Club Mount Maunganui
45 Kawaka Street, Mount Maunganui,Tauranga 3116
Contact: Mark Ivamy

4 September, Invercargill
Venue: Environment Southland
Cnr North Rd & Price St, Waikiwi, Invercargill 9810
Contact: Gavin McCullagh

12 September, Greymouth
Venue: West Coast Regional Council
388 Main South Road, South Beach, Greymouth 7805
Contact: Emma Lemire

1 October, New Plymouth

Venue: Council Chambers, New Plymouth District CouncilNew Plymouth District Council
84 Liardet St, New Plymouth 4342
Contact: Dion Cowley