You are here

Other environmental awards

This page provides information on other New Zealand and international environmental awards.

EECA Awards

The EECA Awards celebrate organisations and individuals who have demonstrated excellence and innovation in energy efficiency or renewable energy projects.

For more information visit the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA) website.

Regional council environmental awards

Regional councils recognise outstanding contributions to improving our environment with their own environmental awards.

For more information visit your regional council website.

Local Government New Zealand holds annual awards for excellent performance by councils in a range of areas including environmental impact. 

For more information see LGNZ excellence awards [Local Government New Zealand website]

United Nations Environment Programme international environmental awards

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) runs several international environmental awards including:

  • Champions of the Earth [United Nations Environment Programme website] 
    Recognising outstanding environmental leaders.
  • The Seed Awards [Seed Initiative website]
    Recognising innovation in local, environmentally-responsible and sustainable entrepreneurship.
  • Green Star Awards [Green Cross website]
    Recognising those who have made remarkable efforts to prevent, prepare for, and respond to environmental disasters around the world.