Current water conservation order applications

This page has information on current applications for new water conservation orders and for amendments to existing orders.

Current applications

Type of application Water conservation order Amendment to an existing water conservation order
Number of applications 2 1

About the applications for a water conservation order 

Te Waikoropupū

The application is for an aquifer that supplies Te Waikoropupū Springs (also known as Pupu Springs) in Golden Bay, Tasman. 

Applicants: Ngāti Tama Ki Te Waipounamu Trust and Andrew Yuill.

Application status: Application status: Referred to a special tribunal by the Minister for the Environment on 14 July 2017.

Find out more about the current status of this application at Water Conservation Order: Te Waikoropupū Springs [Environmental Protection Authority website]

Ngaruroro and Clive Rivers

The application is for the Ngaruroro and Clive Rivers in Hawkes Bay.


  • New Zealand Fish and Game Council 
  • Hawke’s Bay Fish and Game Council 
  • Ngati Hori Ki Kohupatiki 
  • Royal Forest and Bird Protection Society of NZ 
  • Whitewater NZ and Jet Boating NZ.

Application Status: The Special Tribunal delivered their report on 30 August 2019. Various parties may make a submission to the Environment Court. This must occur within 15 working days of receipt of the Special Tribunal’s report.

Find out more about the current status of this application, and download a copy of the Special Tribunal’s decision, at Water Conservation Order: Ngaruroro and Clive Rivers [Environmental Protection Authority website]

About the application to amend an existing order - Rakaia River

The application is to amend the National Water Conservation (Rakaia River) Order 1988. The water bodies it concerns are the tributaries of the Wilberforce River and/or Lake Coleridge (the Ryton River, and the Fisher and Gargarus Streams).

Applicant: Glenthorne Station Limited.

Application status: Submitted to Environment Canterbury to process under the Environment Canterbury (Temporary Commissioners and Improved Water Management) Act 2010.