

Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Climate-Related Financial Disclosures: Release of Discussion Document

Portfolios Commerce and Consumer Affairs / Climate Change

On 23 October 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV), having been authorised by Cabinet to have Power to Act [CAB-19-MIN-0533]:

- noted that the discussion document entitled Climate-related financial disclosures Understanding your business risks and opportunities related to climate change (the discussion document), attached to the paper under DEV-19-SUB-0281, outlines and seeks feedback on the key issues, objectives and potential options related to mandatory climate-related financial disclosures for listed issuers, banks, insurers asset owners and asset managers;
- approved the release of the discussion document, subject to any minor or technical amendments that may be authorised by the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs and the Minister for Climate Change, for a six-week public consultation period;
- noted that the discussion document is expected to be released on 31 October 2019 to coincide with the launch of the Sustainable Finance Forum's interim report, which will outline a roadmap to help New Zealand shift to a financial system that supports economic, social and environmental outcomes;
- 4 **invited** the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs and the Minister for Climate Change to report back to DEV in April 2020 with policy proposals.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

Present:

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon David Parker

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon James Shaw

Hon Julie Anne Genter

Hon Eugenie Sage

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Minister for Climate Change

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV