Types of landfills

This page outlines different types of landfills and requirements. 

What are landfills?

Landfills are facilities for the final controlled disposal of waste in or onto land.

Under the Resource Management Act 1991 (RMA), landfills must have consent conditions which are appropriate to the material they accept.

Types of landfill 

Municipal solid waste landfills 

Landfills that accept household waste as well as other wastes.
Managed landfills Landfills composed mainly of cleanfill, but also construction and demolition waste with light contaminants.
Construction and demolition landfills Landfills where contruction and demolition materials such as wood products, asphalt, plasterboard, insulation and others are disposed to land.
Cleanfills Landfills where virgin natural materials such as clay, soil and rock are disposed to land.
Industrial landfills Landfills that accepts specified industrial wastes.  In most cases industrial waste landfills are monofills associated with a specific industry or facility.

The level of environmental protection depends on the type of waste accepted at the facility.

Requirement to register as a disposal facility

Under the Waste minimisation Act 2008, landfills that accept household waste (which is not entirely from construction, renovation, or demolition of a house) must register as a disposal facility.

Disposal facilities are subject to the waste disposal levy of $10 per tonne of waste disposed of at the facility.

For more about the levy see About the waste disposal levy.

Find out more

Please phone 0800 499 700 or email info@mfe.govt.nz for further information.