You are here

Government agencies we work with

This page provides information about government agencies we work with and provides links to their websites. 

We often work in partnership with the following agencies, which have specific responsibilities not covered by our Ministry.

Department of Conservation

The Department of Conservation (DoC) is the central government agency charged with conserving the natural and historic heritage of New Zealand on behalf of and for the benefit of present and future New Zealanders.

Visit the Department of Conservation website.

Department of Internal Affairs

The Department of Internal Affairs (DIA) serves and connects people, communities and government across many different areas, including births, deaths and marriages, citizenship, passports, censorship, charities, archives and more.

Visit the Department of Internal Affairs website. 

Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority

The Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA) encourages, promotes and supports energy efficiency, energy conservation and the use of renewable energy sources. It promotes sustainable energy by changing the way New Zealanders think about and use energy, and works to raise community awareness of energy efficiency and renewable energy issues.

Visit the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority website.

Environmental Protection Authority

The Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) receives and processes applications for proposals of national significance under the Resource Management Act 1991, regulates the introduction and use of hazardous substances and new organisms, and administers the Emissions Trading Scheme and New Zealand Emission Registry.

The EPA is responsible for managing the effects of specified restricted activities in the Exclusive Economic Zone and the Continental Shelf.

Visit the Environmental Protection Authority website.

Land Information New Zealand

Land Information New Zealand (LINZ) is responsible for land titles, topographical information, managing Crown property, and a variety of other functions. They work to maintain and build confidence in property rights in land and geographic information, and to encourage land information markets to develop and mature.

Visit the Land Information New Zealand website.

Local government

Local government is responsible for the day-to-day management of our environment under the Resource Management Act 1991.

Local government is:

  • 11 regional councils
  • 61 territorial authorities – 11 are city councils and 50 are district councils
  • Six unitary councils – which are territorial authorities with regional council responsibilities. 

Local Government New Zealand is a national organisation representing local government entities.

Find your council's contact details on the New Zealand Local Government Online website.

Ministry for Primary Industries

The Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) vision is to grow and protect New Zealand by maximising export opportunities for the primary industries; improving sector productivity; increasing sustainable resource use; and protecting New Zealand from biological risk.

Visit the Ministry for Primary Industries website.

Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) develops and delivers policy, services, advice and regulation to support business growth and the prosperity and well-being of all New Zealanders. 

Visit the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment website.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT) is the government's lead adviser and negotiator on foreign and trade policy, including climate change, and environmental and natural resource issues.

Visit the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade website.

Ministry of Transport

The Ministry of Transport leads and generates policy on transport, including climate change and environmental issues related to transport.

Visit the Ministry of Transport website.

Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment

The Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment is an independent officer of Parliament, not a government department. The Commissioner's job is to review and provide advice to Parliament on environmental issues and the system of agencies and processes established by the Government to manage the environment.

Visit the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment website.

Te Puni Kōkiri

Te Puni Kōkiri (TPK) is the Ministry for Māori Development. It advises on policy affecting Māori wellbeing and government-Māori relationships. 

Visit the Te Puni Kōkiri website.